ForumsThe TavernGeneral "School" Thread

34 5940
GhostOfHorror
GhostOfHorror
890 posts
Nomad

So, there may I have been a thread like this before, if there was, I don't recall it or haven't seen it for a while.

Basically; discuss anything about school here.
How long is your school day?
Your results?
Least Favourite/Favourite subjetcs/teachers.

All along the lines of that, really.

• 34 Replies
nichodemus
nichodemus
14,981 posts
Grand Duke

School has ended. University beckons.

HELL YEAH.

I liked all my subjects, that's why I chose them. Lit, Econs, History, Math.

Generally it starts at 7 30am and ends at 3 30pm.

rayoflight3
rayoflight3
437 posts
Nomad

I'm a freshman in college, so my "school day" is variable. We operate on a quarter system, three courses a quarter (with the opportunity to take four if desired). Last semester, I averaged about two hours of lecture time a day, excluding Wednesday labs, which added an additional two to three hours of "in-class time" to my week.

College is harder than high school, though it may depend on what university you end up at. Here, unless you came from a prominent feeder school, being valedictorian or salutatorian of your class is almost an implicit prerequisite. The competition is tough but not cut-throat. But ultimately, you can't come in here expecting to attain a 4.0 GPA and become valedictorian again. I realized that far too late into the term. That epiphany came in the middle of my second chemistry midterm, the material of which I missed several lectures on (dem morning classes). The first midterm was a joke (I also missed a few lectures for it), so I figured the second one wouldn't be that bad. Turns out I didn't even cover half the material I needed to know while I was studying. I failed.