ForumsProgramming ForumAnyone Wanna Help me improve my code?

23 14338
cheese123
cheese123
20 posts
Nomad

So I am a newb at flash and you guys seem reasonably nice (compared to some other places)

So I was wandering if you were willing to help. I appreciate the help of anyone but to the experienced programmers - please don't laugh if my code looks stupid.

Anyway thanks for reading.

• 23 Replies
strouthas
strouthas
24 posts
Nomad

Any specific question?

cheese123
cheese123
20 posts
Nomad

Yea I do have one.

In a point and click game what is the best way to speak to characters? I have thought about adding another frame in the character and a bunch of movie clip buttons but I don't really like this idea.

Then maybe just a uniform dialogue movie clip (a blank square) that attaches to the scene when you click a character and fills up with dialogue. Then it unloads once you are done. This method seems like it could get messy when coding. I was thinking maybe an array to store dialogues of the different characters, another array to store the unique button labels (like hello) for each character. But maybe its over complicated?

I think the first method is just better because it's the simple solution, but something tells me that both these ideas are bad.

cheese123
cheese123
20 posts
Nomad

I don't like the first idea because imagine all the movie clips you'll need. It seems like a waste.

boppins
boppins
774 posts
Bard

Kind of hard to get a picture of what you need -- got any screenshots?

A point and click game could be a few things. Is it a static screen with things to click on like Myst? Or is it more like Monkey Island where you click and your character moves?

I think both solutions sound okay. Do what is easy and easy to maintain (and doesn't hurt performance).

weirdlike
weirdlike
1,299 posts
Prince

You can't improve on nothing.... also coding is very tedious you can try doing this

Remember 1 frame 1 action layer as noted here