Forums

ForumsProgramming Forum

I'm new to this and got questions.

Posted Sep 18, '13 at 2:55pm

TheMostManlyMan

TheMostManlyMan

2,922 posts

So I had started learning Javascript from codecademy when I got stuck and realized some things. Anywho, I would like to start learning Flash and creating games but I do have questions.
1: Is it similar to Javascript, and when I say that I mean is is similar enough that I could learn Javascript and just take some time to learn the differences between that and Flash?
2: Would the free flash game creating programs come with tutorials?

I had two or three other questions but, as things go, I forgot them the moment I started typing this.

Thanks.

Posted Sep 21, '13 at 12:52am

weirdlike

weirdlike

527 posts

Knight

if you use flashDevelop then there are tons of tutorials on-line just google ActionScript 3

Posted Sep 29, '13 at 7:13am

Darkroot

Darkroot

2,549 posts

Actionscript is pretty similar to java so I'll just use that as a benchmark for comparison.

Sadly javascript and java have have as much in common as ham and hamster. Basically some idiot/idiots who were making javascript or marketing it deciding slapping java in the front of it would make it more popular. javascript is a scripting language and java is a procedural language aka nothing in common.

Posted Sep 29, '13 at 8:36am

jeol

jeol

3,565 posts