ForumsProgramming ForumSo i am learning how to make 2D games.... any advice?

4 7544
thebeast782
thebeast782
63 posts
Nomad

I am currently learning how to use Unity in effort to create 2D games. As a beginner i am wondering if anyone has any advice or any sites i can learn from. Again, beginner but i am ready for a challenge as i think this could be a gateway into the video game industry. Sure, it WONT be an instant success but I need to learn.

From studying the site from a while, a game gets an average amount of 80k plays. So, feed me people. (Not really) I must learn.

• 4 Replies
Darkroot
Darkroot
2,763 posts
Peasant

I found this site has a good list of tutorials. 2d and 3d games in Unity are pretty similar only difference is how the camera is positioned. Unity has a lot of it's own tutorial series that are pretty good too. If you just google 2d unity game tutorial you are bound to hit a lot of good results too.

dorukayhan
dorukayhan
1,318 posts
Bard

I found this site has a good list of tutorials.

@thebeast782 maybe u can start by making some kind of a small pokemon map after checking out that link?

edit: oh i forgot to tell that u dont need to put every single pokemon into that map

GoodyPundit
GoodyPundit
56 posts
Shepherd

Can I suggest you to start with developing a very simple game?

MartinJ95
MartinJ95
3 posts
Farmer