ForumsProgramming ForumWhat is the difference? (Flash, Flex, and AIR, oh my!)

3 9216
IQAndreas
IQAndreas
299 posts
Peasant

For several months, I was under the impression that the only way to make games and apps that compile into the SWF format was using Flash CS3/CS4.

However, recently, I have heard from various places about Adobe AIR, Flex, and Flash Develop.

What is the difference between all of these?
What formats does each one support?
How much do they cost?

Also, what is the difference between the AIR SDK or Flash SDK and regular AIR and Flash?

• 3 Replies
BehemothBoy
BehemothBoy
33 posts
Nomad

All I know is that AIR is used to turn web apps into desktop apps. I think :P

Erasmus_Darwin
Erasmus_Darwin
59 posts
Nomad

I may get some of the terminology and details a little wrong since I'm still relatively new to Flash, but I think this is an accurate enough overview:

Flash - Vector-based animation package that, over time, has developed scripting and gradually gotten more complex and supported more interactive results to the point where it's used for things like complicated Flash games and other such stuff. Can be scripted with AS2 and AS3 and compiles to the well-known SWF format. Flash is part of the CS3/CS4 packages, which are in the high hundreds / low thousands. There's also different versions of the package available, so make sure the one you get has what you need.

Flex - Adobe, recognizing that Flash had grown well beyond its humble beginnings, created Flex which is essentially Flash for Developers. Under Flex, your project no longer revolves around a timeline and frames. Can be scripted with AS3 and MXML and compiles to the same well-known SWF format. I believe Flex Builder is a modest $250 or so.

MXML - An XML variant that lets you specify the non-code bits of a SWF. This essentially replaces the GUI application-building (such as dragging and dropping a button) that you'd do in the Flash IDE.