ForumsProgramming ForumAction Script 3.0

8 3387
kevinseven11
kevinseven11
36 posts
Nomad

I am new to flash and im still learning AS3. Now my question is how does the main things work. Right now all I know by heart is how to make buttons(that are movieclips) work and how to stop the frames.
Thats It.
Can you tell me any important details about AS3 but I dont want source becuase im planing on learning it not cheating my way through.

• 8 Replies
kevinseven11
kevinseven11
36 posts
Nomad

I know im coming off as a retard but I need da help

crimsonblade55
crimsonblade55
5,420 posts
Shepherd

well I would suggest you learn more about the designing parts of Flash before you try to learn AS3,as you seem to know less then even I do as of right now,and I have barely scratched the surface on AS3,and Action Script is code used to make a few things.If you want some basic codes to start off with then I guess I could tell you some you could use.

stop();

This code simply stops an animation on whatever frame you added it in.

on(release) {
_root.gotoAndPlay(2);
}

you would put this code on the same layer as the button that you want to make the play button.Now you will notice that there is a number after gotoAndPlay and that is just the number of the frame that it plays after the button is pressed,and this can be changed to any frame you want it to be.If you use this button at the end of a flash project/animation you can use it for replay buttons as well,but you will probably need to put in a basic code to stop the animation first.

on(press){
gotoandstop(1)
}

This code probably will be used more for games and web features,and it basically goes to whatever frame you want it to and stop at that frame until something else happens(such as another button is pressed with another action script code)but like the one for the play button the number can be changed for whatever frame you want it to.