ForumsProgramming ForumHelp with moving character and mov

17 5161
herofmb
herofmb
30 posts
Nomad

Hello to all.

First I'm kinda new to flash so I don't know if this is ok to ask =p.

Here it goes:

I'm having a problem to make my character move and his weapon follow the mouse while in movement. I have no problem when I dont put the gun inside the movie clip(the hero) and make a stage.addChild(..) instead of Hero.addChild(..). I'm using AS3 and using classes. I think the code will explain better.

//The class of the Pistol
public class Pistol extends Weapon
{
private var angleBetweenMousePistol:Number;
private var radianToDegree = (180/Math.PI);

public function Pistol()
{
addEventListener(Event.ENTER_FRAME, eFrame);

x = 55;
y = 10;
}

public function eFrame(e:Event):void
{
angleBetweenMousePistol = Math.atan2(stage.mouseY - this.y, stage.mouseX - this.x );
angleBetweenMousePistol *= radianToDegree;
this.rotation = angleBetweenMousePistol;
}
}

What I do next is create a hero using the Hero class and make the hero add the pistol

//class Main
var hero:Hero = new Hero();
var pistol:Pistol = new Pistol();
hero.addChild(pistol);
//

The problem is that everything happens like if the pistol movie clip have been added by the stage (it follows the mouse, but it acts like it'd be at its position I set earlier ( x = 55 and y = 10).
I think this is a bit weird because it moves along the hero, but acts like if it weren't moving. Thanks to all.

• 17 Replies
herofmb
herofmb
30 posts
Nomad

Sorry about the title, I didnt find an edit button

PixelSmash
PixelSmash
566 posts
Nomad

What probably happens here is that you use the x and y of the weapon - which is good, ofcourse - but not relative to the stage but to the parent - in this case the hero. I can't be exactly sure - it's late and I'm a bit tired - but I think that's the problem.

What you should do then is change the code to something like this:

public function eFrame(e:Event):void
{