Forums

ForumsNews, Feedback and Suggestions

Open Beta Sign-up Page is Live!

Thread Locked

Posted Nov 11, '10 at 3:36pm

ArmorL3gend

ArmorL3gend

243 posts

No, because AG3 Beta is run on a seperate site :)

 

Posted Nov 11, '10 at 3:36pm

Freakenstein

Freakenstein

9,238 posts

Moderator

I dunno. We don't really know what is really going to happen to the AP system. It may be changed. If so, your AP may be different, lesser or greater, than what it is. If we keep all our stats and the current idea, that AP will be for rating, commenting, and playing games, while reputation will be community-based, then I certainly will have low AP while having very high reputation. We will just have to keep with what we have and go on from there.

 

Posted Nov 11, '10 at 3:48pm

Reton8

Reton8

2,802 posts

Moderator

I can't remember where, but I think I saw Cormyn say something like, AG2 and BetaAG3 share cache or cookies or something and I'm getting that your AG2 account is somewhat linked to your BetaAG3 account.

I'm wondering if you run the risk of losing AG2 posts, AP, etc. if you do the open beta AG3. I know the AG2 accounts will end and will not have the same AP systems, but I do want my AG2 account to stay intact for as long as possible.

 

Posted Nov 11, '10 at 4:02pm

Kyouzou

Kyouzou

5,231 posts

I all honesty I would love it if AG3 started over. Erasing everything, except the achievements/badges etc. the players who reached certain goals on AG2 have received. It would be a much better way to add in the new points systems.

 

Posted Nov 11, '10 at 4:42pm

cormyn

cormyn

2,962 posts

Knight

What I said was: If you sign up for the beta, you'll be able to log into the site using your AG2 username/password, because we synchronize that data from AG2 to AG3.

And, since AG3 will have different point systems, anything you gain on AG3 will NOT be backwards compatible to AG2. (ie, you won't gain AP on AG2 if you do something in AG3)

AG3 won't be starting over completely -- we'll have the same games. We're looking at ways to migrate game ratings, migrate some of the merited game reviews, and maybe migrate the forums. Wiping the site completely would be a bit extreme.

 

Posted Nov 11, '10 at 5:56pm

Reton8

Reton8

2,802 posts

Moderator

What I said was: If you sign up for the beta, you'll be able to log into the site using your AG2 username/password, because we synchronize that data from AG2 to AG3.


Okay, okay. But it's not possible for a bug or glitch, or some flaw to "cross" some data or code and accidental delete or change something (Post count, AP, etc.) or cause a crash, due to the synchronization?

I only ask because I want to be part of the open beta, but I still want to be active on AG2 during that time. I'm worried that switching back and forth between the two might cause a glitch or something to get "mixed up".

(Like is you went on betaAG3 and some cookie was saved that replaced an AG2 cookie then you signed back on to AG2 and it was reading the wrong cookie or something and caused a glitch. IDk a whole lot of code but you get what I'm saying?)
 

Posted Nov 11, '10 at 6:15pm

cormyn

cormyn

2,962 posts

Knight

Nothing can get mixed up. The data path between AG2 and AG3 is one way. Data can ONLY come from AG2 to AG3. AG3 does not send any data back to AG2. Even the cookies are different. The cookie problems that our closed beta team are reporting have nothing to do with cookies, it's a caching issue on AG3.

 

Posted Nov 11, '10 at 7:51pm

Reton8

Reton8

2,802 posts

Moderator

Nothing can get mixed up. The data path between AG2 and AG3 is one way. Data can ONLY come from AG2 to AG3. AG3 does not send any data back to AG2. Even the cookies are different. The cookie problems that our closed beta team are reporting have nothing to do with cookies, it's a caching issue on AG3.


Okay, Thanks. That's all I needed to here. I might as well sign up for the open beta, now that I know the data path is only one way I don't have to worry.
 

Posted Nov 11, '10 at 8:40pm

Kyouzou

Kyouzou

5,231 posts

AG3 won't be starting over completely -- we'll have the same games. We're looking at ways to migrate game ratings, migrate some of the merited game reviews, and maybe migrate the forums. Wiping the site completely would be a bit extreme.


I was referring to user statistics, and the hundreds of pages of locked threads.
 

Posted Nov 11, '10 at 9:21pm

Freakenstein

Freakenstein

9,238 posts

Moderator

The cookie problems that our closed beta team are reporting have nothing to do with cookies, it's a caching issue on AG3.


At least that explains why we had cookies permanently enabled and the thing was still an issue. If it was a cookie problem instead, then other things would have messed up :S