ForumsArt, Music, and WritingAre you a performer?

9 3910
RaiderDawg
RaiderDawg
158 posts
Nomad

If you are a musician, actor, dancer, comedian, magician, or other performing artist, post here and tell us what you do, how long you've been doing it, what kind of performances you give, etc.

• 9 Replies
SkullZero1
SkullZero1
511 posts
Nomad

this should be under movies and music, art ad music is for posting your work.

XCoheedX
XCoheedX
924 posts
Scribe

Yup, skull nailed it. I really think the name should be changed to ORIGINAL Music and Art. Anyway, I am a musician and guitarist. Anyway, move this to that section. Thanks!

Strop
Strop
10,817 posts
Bard

Eh, I never post this kind of thing in "movies and music" because commonly on forums, such refers only to &quotopular culture".

Arguably, the actual participation as a performer is the generation of art and therefore counts as valid discussion in this subforum, but then on the other hand other forums also frequently have such threads in the "Movies and Music" subforum setting a precedent. But I'm not a moderator, so I'll leave this decision up to them.

While this thread remains open then, I'll bite. I've been performing since young so I perform in several aspects:

* I just got home from a concert. I play French Horn with the local youth symphony orchestra as a bit of a hobby...I've been playing the horn on and off for like 11 years or something (though most of those I barely touched the thing) and any opportunity to play music is fine by me.

* My main instrument is piano and to this end I've done all kinds of things, from musicals to accompanying work to solo recitals (including performances of original compositions, so nyeh :P) I've been playing it for more than 16 years and since I do professional work, I consider myself to be a professional musician (that even sometimes gets paid for his services), although it's not my primary career.