ForumsProgramming ForumA Word on Game Making

5 23904
KentyBK
KentyBK
566 posts
Nomad

Seeing as the forum now has threads for free game making tools as well as an introduction to programming, I've decided to add what I'd call the missing link: a thread about the actual process of developing a video game.

A couple things to note before we start:
- I'll try to make this as platform independant as possible, simply to make it age more slowly
- I won't go into 3D specific things, since 3D games are significantly more complex and would probably atleast double the size of this post
- Programming knowledge isn't strictly required, but keep in mind it'll give you many more options, as well as other applications than just making games.
- This is by no means complete, as the whole topic is simply to complex to put into a single thread post. Even in a condensed form, it may still be too complicated for complete beginners.
- Sit down and do it! By far the best way to learn about game making is experiencing it yourself.

And with that out of the way, let's start with the theoretical stuff before we get to the actual implementation of a game.

http://i.imgur.com/tnBq8Qk.png

http://i.imgur.com/HhAHybU.png
Every game starts with an idea. It might be something like a unique game mechanic or concept you want to try, or maybe just an idea for a specific setting or a story. It doesn't even necessarily have to be something completely original. This may seem obvious, but nevertheless, it's important that you know for sure what *exactly* your idea is before you start making a game out of it.