ForumsWEPRRich kid killed 4 by drunk driving... 10 years probation becuz of "affluenza"

16 4580
UnleashedUponMankind
UnleashedUponMankind
12,693 posts
Grand Duke

BBC article

CNN article

Short sketch: a 16 year old kid crash drunk in a group of pedestrians, killing 4 of them.
He faced 20 years in prison for that, but no: becasue, according of one psychologist, he has "affluenzza" (his parents are rich and never set any limits, so he is a privileged, spoilt kid), he is a victim.

Sentence: 10 yearts probation, he must also enroll in a rehabilitation centre.
Well, its a private one, costs 450k/year, his parents have to pay for it...

Light sentence?
Fair judgement?

What do you think?

• 16 Replies
SSTG
SSTG
13,057 posts
Treasurer

There are two justices, one for the rich ******** and one for normal people who actually have to work for a living.
He should go to jail for 20 years!

Calm
Calm
911 posts
Herald

Thanks for linking to this very interesting story - being a lawyer myself I always find these things fascinating.

As we don't have all the facts, there's no way to say for certain that justice was not carried out properly. However, in my opinion, this decision will go towards undermining the judicial system if it is more widely reported.

I personally struggle to understand how a judge can let herself be convinced that "affluenza" is a thing when she must routinely convict defendants from underprivileged backgrounds. Having rich parents, everything you want, is according to her worse than having a drunkard father who beats you up as a kid? Sure they're going through a divorce, just like over 50% of all marriages, does that mean all the kids should get a free pass?