The Armor Games website will be down for maintenance on Monday 10/7/2024
starting at 10:00 AM Pacific time. We apologize for the inconvenience.

ForumsProgramming ForumWhere can I start? [Very Basic AS]

11 4914
Octugen
Octugen
36 posts
Nomad

I'v just started looking and toying with flash, and I'm a total newb at it.
So to put it straight: Where do I start?
I'v figured doing it from the very beginning should be good.
Does anyone have some useful links / tutorials that goes all the way back to
-basic programming language to AS if there is one?
I'd like links that explain / define the words, symbols use in AS.

perhaps learning even a more easier language before smoothing into AS?
explaining some here would be grand.

Thanks!

• 11 Replies
beech
beech
107 posts
Nomad

i always say that the best place to start is at the source, the Flash Help docs (or livedocs) has a wealth of information, starting with the ground up concepts, start with the 'getting started' section. by beginning your reading there, you'll become familiar with the core concepts and structures of how things work - once you have a grasp on the basics of what things 'are', you will be able to better comprehend the incredible amount of tutorials and forums out there, and really start getting into it, trying things, experimenting, learning, discussing, etc.

Darkroot
Darkroot
2,763 posts
Peasant

Python could be a good beginner language would teach you some important concepts that you could easily apply to actionscript. Personally I find books more enjoyable, easier reference and better source for learning. Most are like only $30 and if you buy a good one and commit yourself to reading thought it and applying the knowledge your pretty much all set for the basics. Starring at the computer the entire day does not bode well for your vision. That' why I recommend books. But everything beech said is true but I've never really found them that intuitive.

gaboloth
gaboloth
1,612 posts
Peasant