The Armor Games website will be down for maintenance on Monday 10/7/2024
starting at 10:00 AM Pacific time. We apologize for the inconvenience.

ForumsProgramming ForumProblems with a MouseEvent function

10 4379
Wilon
Wilon
7 posts
Nomad

I'm new to Actionscript 3.0 (and Flash), and am currently having a problem with a MouseEvent function in my first movie.

I'm trying to make the object 'mainVersionInfo' change colour when moused over. Instead of using colorTransform, I'm using labels as shown in the snippets of code below.

function menu():void{
mainVersionInfo.addEventListener(MouseEvent.MOUSE_OVER,glowInfo);
}
function glowInfo(Event:MouseEvent):void{
mainVersionInfo.gotoAndStop("mouseOff"
}

Upon testing the movie, I receive the following compiler error:

1120: Access of undefined property mainVersionInfo.

I'm able to fix this error by moving the 'glowinfo' function inside the 'menu', but I don't think this is the best solution. Can anybody explain to me why this error is occuring, and what the 'roper' way to fix it would be?

• 10 Replies
beech
beech
107 posts
Nomad

hmmm - well it should be ok if you do have an instance name of mainVersionInfo on the stage. however, there is one issue in the handler declaration, you should try not to use 'reserved names' as your property names, ie. Event:MouseEvent - try it with simply, e:MouseEvent - as 'Event' is a system package

but additionally, what your description leads me to believe is that you have the instance 'mainVersionInfo' declared as a property (var) within the menu() method? this would mean that the instance is 'local' to the scope of the method and doesn't exist outside that scope - which would cause the 1120

additionally another way to target the instance within a handler, is to use: e.currentTarget - provided that 'e' is the property name of the event argument

Wilon
Wilon
7 posts
Nomad