The Armor Games website will be down for maintenance on Monday 10/7/2024
starting at 10:00 AM Pacific time. We apologize for the inconvenience.

ForumsProgramming ForumRPG Code, go look!

9 4766
Secretmapper
Secretmapper
1,747 posts
Nomad

It's not finished yet, and I know that I might have done something really wrong. Being a flash artist, I liked the idea of writing code in AS3 too. So, I guess I just sat down and write (some sort of) RPG Code.

I did it down and dirty, so expect some serious bull**** in it XD

Tell me things that can make me improve it. Like, I might be missing some thing important that would have made this piece of code better.

Warning:This is my first AS3 code, and I didn't follow any tutorials too, so don't go too hard on me, please
package {
import flash.display.SimpleButton;
import flash.events.MouseEvent;
import flash.display.MovieClip;
import flash.display.DisplayObject

public class BattleScreen extends MovieClip {

public static var player:Array = [16,1,2,3,4,5,6]; //Player 0=Life, 1=Mana, 2=Defence, 3=Min Damage, 4=Max Damage, 5=Poison Damage, 6=Dexterity
var enemy:Array = [5,4,3,6]; //Enemy 0=Life, 1=Mana, 2=Defence, 3=Min Damage, 4=Max Damage 5=Poison Damage
var eSpells:Array = [0,1,2,3]; //Enemy Spell cast chance 0=Poison, 1=Stun
var pStates:Array = [0,0] //0=Poison, 1=Stunned,
var eStates:Array = [0,0] //0=Poison, 1=Stunned,
var acheck:Array = [0,0] //0=Poison check 1=Stun check
var randDodge:int = 1 //Player Dodge from enemy
var randETurn:int = 1 //Pick Enemy Turn
var turn = 1 //1=Player, 2=Enemy
//runs turn check
public function BattleScreen () {
turnCheck ();
}
//checks who's turn it is
public function turnCheck() {
trace ("Player Life:"+player[0])
trace ("Enemy Life:"+enemy[0])
if (turn==1) {
pStateCheck ();
}
else if (turn==2) {
eStateCheck ();
}
else {
trace ("turn is neither 1 nor 2&quot
}
}
//Player!
//checks state of player
public function pStateCheck() {
if (player[0]>0){ //checks if player is still alive