The Armor Games website will be down for maintenance on Monday 10/7/2024
starting at 10:00 AM Pacific time. We apologize for the inconvenience.

ForumsProgramming ForumPlatform game development?

7 4737
Seth23KvK
Seth23KvK
15 posts
Nomad

Hi, I'm new to Flash. I borrowed Flash 8 from one of my relatives and have been experimenting with that. I want to make a simple platformer game however, I do not know where to start. Does anyone know of some in-depth tutorials or any resources or helpful tips to start? I really want to make one, I just do not have the knowledge. Thanks, Seth.

• 7 Replies
Darkroot
Darkroot
2,763 posts
Peasant

0. Familiarize yourself with the software
1. Get an intro book into programming. (Note if you're not a beginner to programming know; conditionals, loops, data-types, recursions, functions ect.. then go to step 2).
2. Get an intermediate book into programming. (Mostly OOP intro and the details of AS3).
3. Get a book on game design in flash with actionscript.

Did Macromedia flash 8 even support actionscript 2.0?

arobegamr
arobegamr
130 posts
Nomad

Flash 8 only works with Actionscript 2.0, not 3.0. A good tutorial for a platform game engine is tonypa's tutorial at the following address: [url=http://www.tonypa.pri.ee/tbw/start.html]
(The tutorial covers tile-based production, for more than just platform games)

newdev13
newdev13
3 posts
Nomad

yea, i need help with the programing side of making games, i tried to learn the code but i'm having a lot of trouble with it. if any of you could help me with a game by supplying code and i supply media files i will be willing to split any money made off of the game

arobegamr
arobegamr
130 posts
Nomad

@newdev13
I hate to break it to you, but as a new developer, you can't expect to make any money at all of of your games, mostly you will be developing for fun and to gain a reputation. Profit comes much later.

Seth23KvK
Seth23KvK
15 posts
Nomad