ForumsThe TavernThe trash can?

9 2911
FallenSky
FallenSky
1,813 posts
Peasant

Hello there, I just wanted to know if there was some kind of way to get back photos or files that have been deleted in the trash can. I have the latest window version, and I was wondering because I accidentaly deleted an important piece of writing from my pc. I'm not that good with computers, but please tell me if there's any way to do it.

• 9 Replies
master565
master565
4,104 posts
Nomad

When you delete the files, your computer doesn't actually delete them until you need the space, so your computer will show the space as being open even though the file is still there. I think this program is supposed to recover deleted files.

Joe96
Joe96
2,226 posts
Peasant

If it goes to the recycle bin, you can take it back out (assuming you have administrative privileges, otherwise you might not be able to). But, if you deleted it from there, I'd give the program master suggested a try. The only things is, though, it's only a trial...I hate those >_<

KXIsystem
KXIsystem
106 posts
Nomad

You can also try this, though its not free but its powerful. It comes with this software package that I recommend though its up to you. You might wanna search recover programs.

Also note that you may not be able to recover everything that you deleted.

knight_34
knight_34
13,817 posts
Farmer

Recuva from Pirifom (the guys who made CCleaner) is pretty decent I suppose.

Remember that the sooner you take action after you accidentally erase your file, the better your odds are of finding it. This is especially true if there isn't much remaining space on your hard drive. Once a file is removed from the Recycle Bin, Windows allows any programs that need the extra space to overwrite your "deleted" files. Hopefully, that hasn't happened yet.

master565
master565
4,104 posts
Nomad

It wold be pretty ironic if, when you download the program, it's files overwrites the hard drive space that you needed to recover.

knight_34