ForumsThe TavernChoosing a College

10 2154
MassiveTomboy
MassiveTomboy
105 posts
Nomad

Well...I'm a senior in high school this coming year..And I'm looking for colleges..I want to become a coroner so I need to get my M.D. I want to go to a college in Colorado, and I live in Maine...I'm gona move to Colorado..so that works..I checked out CTU..but I'm not good at looking at colleges..
Any advice?

• 10 Replies
Kyouzou
Kyouzou
5,061 posts
Jester

I suggest you find people in the profession, they would probably know where the best programs are, if not you can always google it. of course I also suggest that you go in state so you're not paying off student loans at age 40.

Maverick4
Maverick4
6,800 posts
Peasant

You need to look at three *main* factors:

-Cost (Money you'll spend: Tuition, fees to move out there, books, etc)
-Major (What you want to be: Going to a tech school to be a florist is generally not a good idea.
-Personal Abilities (What you can deal with: Cool is you want to be an enjineer, but picking Westpoint may not be the best choice for you)

I don't know much about you, so I can't say too much. You just need to look at these three factors and determine what school will be best for you. So for me, cost is a huge issue; I need to get a full, or mostly full scholarship. I also want to major in Nuclear Engineering, so i need to pick a school that has a major in Nuclear Engineering. I also want to go into the Army, so Westpoint is a good pick for me, as is Annapolis and a few in-state colleges that cover atleast 2 of these.

Also, don't put all your eggs in one basket: Apply to multiple universities. So, I'll apply to all my in-state schools, Westpoint, and Annapolis.

I'll be a sophmore this August, and you gotta start early for Westpoint/Annapolis.

Jefferysinspiration
Jefferysinspiration
3,139 posts
Farmer

I think maverick hit the criteria of things regarding reasons to be interested in a school.