ForumsProgramming ForumWall Collisions

2 4046
Sisenta
Sisenta
1 posts
Peasant

I'm currently working on creating a Flash game, although I'm new to the program and need some assistance with ActionScript 3.0 programming. How do you go about programming a player stopping its movement when it touches a block? And I want to emphasis blocks plural, because I tried a basic hitTestObject function and it only worked for one instance of the block, and not any more than that. Help is greatly appreciated! Thank you!

• 2 Replies
Freckls627
Freckls627
31 posts
Nomad

A great method to look into is the getRect() function. You pass an object to it, in this case the player, and you get a rectangle object which you can refer to easily such as, playerRectangle.top, playerRectangle.bottom, playerRectangle.left, etc. This makes it easy to check for collisions among multiple blocks. You can also use this function on the block you're colliding with as well. I hope this helps a little bit.

BlueJayy
BlueJayy
27 posts
Nomad

You're going to need a grouping to system to be able to cycle through all of the blocks that you want to check collisions with. You can think of the stage as one large MovieClip that houses all of the objects on the screen. You can also add objects to other MovieClips contained within the stage to create an organization system.

First, declare your new MovieClip:

var Blocks:MovieClip = new MovieClip()

This MovieClip will contain all of the blocks that will be added to the stage. Don't forget to addChild(Blocks) just like you would for any other MovieClip, or else they won't appear on the stage.

Whenever you want to add a new block, you'll want to add it to the Blocks MovieClip so that you can reference it later:

Blocks.addChild(new Block(&ltaramters&gt)

Now that you can reference the blocks that you add, you can do the collision system. You'll want to cycle through the Blocks MovieClip and check each block to see if it is colliding with whatever you want.