ForumsProgramming ForumWhat programs you need to learn to make a game ?

32 15949
elshobokshy
elshobokshy
159 posts
Nomad

I'm a rookie in game making, a total beginner so I would like to know what programs do I need to learn ? What to start with ? And what to do
I started reading some stuff about C++, it's WAY too hard!! Any help would be greatly appreciated! Thanks

• 32 Replies
AirDecade
AirDecade
23 posts
Shepherd

I would recommend searching YouTube for video lectures on programming.
Just an example of you may find: [url=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KkMDCCdjyW8]

3Aegis3
3Aegis3
6 posts
Nomad

Well, if you're new to programming in general, you might want to start with Game Maker to get the general mindset of actually making games and to see if it really is the thing for you. Then, when you've got that down you could go straight into learning the more "advanced" languages like Java, C(#, ++), or AS, but if those still seem a bit too hard/confusing, you can always try a BASIC language such as Visual Basic or TI Basic (usable if you have a TI-83/84 calculator).

Unfortunately, you won't be able to jump right into making games. It'll take some time to get into the groove of programming first.

master565
master565
4,107 posts
Nomad

Game making doesn't really help you learn how programming works at all. If you want to make a game, READ THE STICKIES.