ForumsWEPRDo Grades Prohibit Real Learning?

90 22757
CabzIndustries
CabzIndustries
35 posts
Nomad

I have recently read an article stating that grades make students only focus on homework and cramming before tests and they don't really absorb the material. to be honest i can agree, as a student i feel that i forget all my information of the years because i only focused on cramming for the test. Do you think that this is true? and what would be a new system to test the intelligence of the modern day student?

• 90 Replies
devsaupa
devsaupa
1,810 posts
Nomad

I cram for test a lot and end up doing bad on most of them. To take something my pre cal teacher said, grades make students focus on the letter instead of the material. And sometimes the grade doesn't say how smart the student is. Some people just stink at tests (like me) or have other things going on that impair their homeword time. Not to mention the copying of homework outside of school. And some teachers have different grading styles that might not fit how the student is comfortable learning. Overall, grades do prohibit true learning, not just temporary memorizing for a test.

EmperorPalpatine
EmperorPalpatine
9,442 posts
Jester

I do the same thing. I think homework should be completely optional with no penalty for skipping it and replace it with very short daily quizzes to show understanding.

devsaupa
devsaupa
1,810 posts
Nomad

I think homework should be completely optional with no penalty for skipping it and replace it with very short daily quizzes to show understanding.

That is a very good idea. It suits the people that don't have time for homework and the people that aren't good at quizzes/tests.
calebsi
calebsi
202 posts
Farmer

Well I don't like homework, but I believe it is necessary because you don't always have enough time to get through everything in class.

master565
master565
4,107 posts
Nomad