ForumsThe TavernStudying

9 1246
nichodemus
nichodemus
14,990 posts
Grand Duke

After being a veteran of so many examination campaigns, about 50 major term exams and a twice that number of minor class tests, I'm interested to know how much do most people study. How long? How dedicated?

I try and go for at least 5 weeks in advance before the test, so I'm in an almost perpetual study cycle of at least 5 hours daily during that period. Not counting minor things like homework of course. Of course I'm yellow as my DP, but yeah.

• 9 Replies
MrDayCee
MrDayCee
14,745 posts
King

I think you might have addressed the very topic people tend to get away from when visiting this website nicho... LOL ...but it's a nice new topic I have to say! =D

Allright, well... I haven't been experiencing the study cycle for some years now as I have been working for about 15 years straight already, so it's a little out of my league here, but I won't give up! =)

I clearly remember having loads of problems with studying back then! I was easily distracted by anything and everything! I would need to have some form of rythem to keep switching back and forth between studying and a mild relaxation of some sort, i.e. listen to a pop song for 5 minutes... this would help me make it through a book, which was clearly something I dred still! (o.O)

I've always been more of the 'ractical/visual' way of learning things! With that I simply mean that either somone has to literally show me how it's done and I copy/re-inact it, or I can watch a video on how it's done and do it myself! That never fails!

I had to do a study 10 years ago for some insurance work I did back then and it was awful!! (o.O)