ForumsWEPRThe Dark Side of Technology

22 12566
Doombreed
Doombreed
7,022 posts
Templar

Smartphones, huge wi-fi coverage, chips and even advancements in nanotechnology. These are just some technological marvels that are or in the third and fourth cases will conceivably soon be part of our everyday lives. The growth sites like facebook and twitter have met in the last years is astonishing as well. It would appear that almost nothing can go by unnoticed. However, is this good or bad?

How do you feel about it? Do you often feel like you cannot hide? Have you ever considered not using the internet for some time and if so, what was it like? Have you tried it? Do you think technology is beginning to replace major parts of our lives?

• 22 Replies
thepyro222
thepyro222
2,151 posts
Peasant

We are all slaves to technology. I work as an IT guy. When someone's computer breaks, they are crippled. They can't work at all. We are definitely very dependant on tech and the internet. As far as internet privacy, it's an illusion. People think that their facebook and such is private just because they select a few options, but it's been shown that it's very easy to hack. I can get into someone's profile just by social engineering alone. You hear all the time on the news that companies get hacked and credit card numbers and bank accounts are exposed. I Just had to replace my card today because of that. And yes, it already has replaced major parts of our lives. I think something like 70-80% of all media is consumed through the internet now, probably higher. email is taking the place of snail mail. They even have 3D printers that can print organs from stem cells now.

WHDH
WHDH
168 posts
Shepherd

Technology is good and bad, because now people can acses ore informatins and can connect to everyone. Well because o technology we are posting this. But people lost their privacy because of technology. SO like almost all technology is grey: not just black and not just white.

Doombreed