The Armor Games website will be down for maintenance on Monday 10/7/2024
starting at 10:00 AM Pacific time. We apologize for the inconvenience.

ForumsProgramming ForumHow do I start Making a Game.

18 10823
Sassin
Sassin
170 posts
Nomad

okay im new at stuff like this and all my friends are doing it so i would like to try it atleast. I dont need the game to be complicated i just want to start making it ,but i dont know how to do it or where to learn so can anyone help me.

• 18 Replies
Carnage1995
Carnage1995
97 posts
Nomad

Google free easy game making websites. You should find some decent things in there. You will need to download the software and it usually has tutorials for you.

SoulHack117
SoulHack117
1,845 posts
Nomad

I recommend Byond or Scratch. Both are easy to learn, and a nice way to start learning programming.

shayneii
shayneii
2,492 posts
Peasant

A good program to start with that is simple for making games is Game Maker.

However, if you want to make good games to submit to Armor Games, you will need Flash. (it's $699 though!) It's better to get experience with simpler programs first and see if you are really interested in making games.

Buttersnack
Buttersnack
332 posts
Peasant

Get the free trial of Flash. From then on out, you decide what to do.

Sassin
Sassin
170 posts
Nomad

These are all free right?

Sassin
Sassin
170 posts
Nomad

Also I want to learn how to script for a game becuase i might need it in the future.

Fighterlegend
Fighterlegend
44 posts
Nomad

Well, there's Flixel and then there's LiveSwif

134 posts
Nomad

Make a plan. duh!

facehex
facehex
8 posts
Nomad

how long you rekon it takes to program a game?

tegan190
tegan190
783 posts
Nomad