ForumsThe TavernTrack & Field

21 4166
bedauern
bedauern
29 posts
Nomad

Hi.

I'm a 16 year old Junior and I'm trying out for my schools Track & field team. I was going to try out the 100m since this is my first year doing this sport, and I was wondering if any of you knew what kind of shoes I should buy for this event. Please, any information will be helpful! Thank you.

• 21 Replies
Yoshi8521
Yoshi8521
129 posts
Nomad

I'm not exactly sure about what type of shoes you should wear. Maybe just some tennis shoes that you have broken into. I'm sure if you search on the Nike site they would have tons of different types of shoes for anything you can think of. Let me know if this helped! Sorry that I don't have more specifics!

daleks
daleks
3,766 posts
Chamberlain

Are you going to do other events too?

It pretty much depends on how serious you are about the sport. You could just use some tennis shoes like Yoshi said(that is what I did) or you can get some spiked shoes.

bedauern
bedauern
29 posts
Nomad

Hi, sorry for such a late reply, but it turns out that spiked shoes are required for me to enter at the track meets. I'm planning on doing 100, 200 and 400m this year.

Joe96
Joe96
2,226 posts
Peasant

Wow, good luck! I did track 2 years in middle school, took a break Freshman year, did cross country last semester, and started up long distance track a little while ago. I would recommend buying whatever feels the best on your foot (obviously). There is a store a few miles from my house where they have a treadmill set up with a camera and a program that analyzes your gait and can help you pick out the best shoe. I ended up with a pair of Adidas spikes (Cross country) and will probably use those for track. Before that, I bought some trainers to build up my endurance and speed. It probably wouldn't be a bad idea if you picked a pair up yourself. Hope that helped

soccerdude2
soccerdude2
1,673 posts
Shepherd