ForumsThe Tavern[necro]Latin. Yes or No?

21 4326
Cardibard
Cardibard
2,025 posts
Nomad

If you had the choice to learn latin, for free, either in high school, college, or even at work. Would you learn it? Yes or No? Explain why or why not?

• 21 Replies
LucasDaLegend
LucasDaLegend
1,066 posts
Nomad

No, simply because no one even speaks Latin anymore. If i was living in Rome about 2030 years ago, then yes.

KhaoticSniper
KhaoticSniper
210 posts
Nomad

Yes, Cause it is a Good Language to learn Although no one speaks it, it is still good to learn it for free,
and @LucasDaLegend there are some people that can speak Latin i know one guy (a fried of my dads)

Syrenia
Syrenia
1 posts
Nomad

Absolutely. I'm a medical student, i use latin on my lessons and career. Also latin is so cool language, i like to speak it. And its free? OMG

nichodemus
nichodemus
14,990 posts
Grand Duke

Why not? I would like to enjoy some of the classic texts as they were, unspoiled by translations.

Plus I mean.....free?

Santi_
Santi_
1,900 posts
Nomad

I would. Just confuse people when you start speaking it.

soccerdude2
soccerdude2
1,673 posts
Shepherd

Yes I would if it was for free and it didn't make me choose between it and a different class. It would be cool.

Faunbard
Faunbard
650 posts
Nomad

I don't know about Latin,but I can do pig Latin.
ellohay, ymay amenay siay aunbardfay. Hatway siay uoryay amenay¿

Graham
Graham
8,051 posts
Nomad

Yes, have a better understanding of languages.

I'd prefer taking Latin to English courses.

daleks
daleks
3,766 posts
Chamberlain

The only reason I would learn it is so I could look at other languages and go 'O, this word comes from this'. Other then that I don't see the point in taking it.

SSTG
SSTG
13,055 posts
Treasurer

I'd love it and also learn ancient Greek so I could read old text from the Roman and Greek writers and historians.

Masterforger
Masterforger
1,824 posts
Peasant