ForumsThe TavernDo You Type the "B" Key With Your Right or Left Hand?

42 44043
Osumnis
Osumnis
1,147 posts
Shepherd

I noticed that "B" has a pretty equal distance from both the left and right index fingers (if you type with all fingers) and then whenever I come to the "B" key I have to stop and think if I should type it with my left or right hand. I usually end up using my left.

• 42 Replies
Kasic
Kasic
5,552 posts
Jester

I use both. It depends on the letter that will come after the B. For example...that last capital b (and this latest one) I used my left hand because my right hand was going over to the period. In the b in because I used my right hand because my left hand was going to hit the e while my right hit the b.

So yeah. I never really thought about it.

It would be nice to have someone else say what they use for three reasons.

1) I don't type properly, I'm self taught.
2) I do things strangely.
3) I'm ambidextrous, and don't have a dominant hand.

Maverick4
Maverick4
6,800 posts
Peasant

I use my left hand, because the instructor took off points if you used the wrong hand in typing a key. The joys of the public school system.

Santi_
Santi_
1,900 posts
Nomad

I use my left hand whenever I type "B"
Probably has to do with me being left-handed.

I use my left hand, because the instructor took off points if you used the wrong hand in typing a key. The joys of the public school system.

Never heard about that, but it sounds terrible.
Ernie15
Ernie15
13,344 posts
Bard

I always type it with my left hand.

"N", however, is a different story. Depending on what follows it, I've noticed that I type this key with both fingers (not at the same time).

dair5
dair5
3,371 posts
Shepherd

I type the b key with my left hand. That's because my keyboard is split down the middle, so the b key is on the left side and it only makes sense to hit it with my left.

awesomeplayer312
awesomeplayer312
187 posts
Nomad