ForumsWEPRWhy Do Atheists Celebrate Christmas?

140 29539
thepossum
thepossum
3,035 posts
Nomad

I would like to know why atheists feel that they have the right to celebrate Christmas. And even worse, WHAT THE HECK GIVES ATHEISTS THE RIGHT to insist on cutting out the word Christmas from everything? Example: they changed it from CHRISTMAS tree to HOLIDAY tree.
Now how stupid is that? The trees are meant FOR CHRISTMAS! That's what the 'holiday' in holiday tree stands for, CHRISTmas. So, fire on me all you want, I just want some answers.

• 140 Replies
thelistman
thelistman
1,416 posts
Shepherd

WHAT THE HECK GIVES ATHEISTS THE RIGHT

It's called freedom. Learn to love it.

Look at the holidays you might celebrate that have nothing to do with you:

Martin Luther King Day
St. Patrick's Day
Casimir Pulaski Day (Polish holiday in Chicago)

I'm not black, Irish, or Polish, but I sure like those days off of school. I'm a teacher and I LOVE celebrating those days. They have nothing to do with me, but I'll be the first in line to celebrate.

SilentQ
SilentQ
601 posts
Nomad

'Cause they can. By cutting out Christmas from things, they basically create a new holiday. Meaning that they don't support/believe in Christianity. I'm not against Atheists celebrating Christmas, but they should at least know why it's really celebrated, and most do, so I'm fine with it. If they want to change the holiday name to suit them, fine with me, there's nothing wrong with it. If they choose not to endorse Christianity, that's their problem. To them, Christmas is about the gift giving and spending time with family and friends.

Zega
Zega
6,921 posts
Peasant

Yes, like thelistman. You Americans have plenty of other holidays "that you shouldn't have the right to celebrate"....

I'm sort-of an atheist, and I celebrate it for the presents.

Xzeno
Xzeno
2,301 posts
Nomad